A sample of the speakers for 2020


Dr Michael J Michell, President, Symposium Mammographicum

Prof Sir Mike Richards CBE, Chair, Independent Review of Adult Screening Programmes in England

Prof Fiona J Gilbert, Professor of Radiology, University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine

Prof Gareth Evans, Professor of Medical Genetics, Regional Genetics, St Mary’s Hospital, Manchester

Prof Ken Young, Head of Research (NCCPM), Medical Physics Department, Royal Surrey County Hospital

Dr Louise Wilkinson, Consultant Radiologist, Oxford Breast Imaging Centre

Dr Kevin Dunbar, Regional Head of Screening Quality Assurance Service (SQAS) – South, Public Health England Screening Division

Prof Nico Karssemeijer, Founder Screenpoint and Professor of Radiology, Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Mr Mark Sibbering, Consultant Breast Surgeon, Derby, and President of the Association of Breast Surgery

Ms Kathryn Taylor, Director of Breast Screening and Consultant Radiographer, Cambridge University Hospitals

Dr Ruchi Sinnatamby, Consultant Radiologist and Clinical SubDean, Cambridge University Hospitals

Prof Michael Webster, University of Nevada, USA

The Conference Programme is almost complete; the Organising Committee have put together a wide range of themes and interests by way of traditional conference as well as workshops.

Topics from the programme include:

  • The future of breast screening
  • UK breast screening clinical trials
  • Patient information and support
  • Education and research
  • Safely reducing recall rates in breast screening
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Building staff resilience
  • Considerations in male, transgender and gender-diverse patients
  • Vision and perception science
  • Treatment de-escalation clinical trials
  • Latest surgical and oncoplastic techniques
  • Physics: practical quality control and dosimetry
  • Physics: implications for practice arising from latest technologies
  • Wellbeing of patients with advanced breast disease
  • Cancer detection for maximum impact
  • A range of hand-on workshops
  • Assistant Practitioner workshop
  • Consultant Practitioner workshop.